Answers have been confirmed by Reiner Knizia.
To add some background:
Originally there was an automatic veto round after
each movement of a locomotive. However, the polling of each player cost a
lot of time even in the many situations when it was quite obvious that no-one
was interested in bidding. Therefore, the procedure was changed to the current
ruling. Play continues without the formal polling process unless any one
player indicates that he would like to consider a veto, in which case the
polling takes place. Indicating one's interest to consider a veto, i.e.
calling a veto round, does not give the player any obligation to bid.
During a veto round, the active player may only defend his original position
of the locomotive. He cannot change his mind to place the locomotive onto a
space different to his original choice. (This is not perfectly clear from the
current rules and contradicts the example shown in the rules). However,
he may still equal or top up the current bid, for example to defend his passenger
token after originally moving the locomotive onto another player's station.
Note that 'zero shares' is not a bid; the minimum bid is 'one share'.
The active player could call a veto round but there is no real reason to do so.
Isolated Railway lines
- Can supplementary shares be used as veto bid payment?
If so, are they returned to the supplementary share stack or the stack
of the railway they're being used for? This could be important if you're
trying to control the number of shares available for purchase in a
- When a player returns shares due to a veto bid, 'real' shares
(not supplementary shares) should be returned. They are returned back to the
share pile and so become available (as long as the line has not been isolated).
If for some reason a player does not have enough real shares to return (because
he has only supplementary shares left in this company), then he should simply
swap some supplementary shares for real shares with another player first. See
also Supplementary Shares.
- When a veto is called, does the active player receive his share
in the railway line before or after the veto gets resolved.
- Before the veto. This is a common question even though there is
clear reference in the rules and in the veto round example. When a railway line
is extended, you follow the sequence in the rules.
So, the active player has the share which can be used during the veto round.
- Move the locomotive.
- Pick up the share.
- Call and resolve the veto round.
- Place the track tile.
For a line to become isolated only two conditions need be meet.
The fact that other lines can still merge with it does not matter. Remember
that it is the line that gets extended (i.e. just had the locomotive moved)
that is the one removed in a merger.
- It cannot link with any new railways towns or cities.
- It cannot merge with another line.
Note: I find that it is easier not to remove the shares from the board
when a line becomes isolated but to turn the stack face down (to indicate the
line is isolated). This should remind players that they cannot take shares for
moving the locomotive if the line is isolated. Once the line is merged
I then put the locomotive on top of the stack. But (supplementary) shares are
still 'available' for mergers, even with isolated railway lines.
- If a line is merged with an isolated line, do the
shareholders get to swap shares? The shares of the isolated line have
been "removed from the board and discarded", but also "if there are
not enough shares of the surviving railway line available, allocate
and distribute supplementary shares instead". Does having been
discarded as isolated count as "not enough available"?
- You are correct that the shares of the isolated line
have been discard and so are no longer available BUT the supplementary
shares are always available for mergers.
So in this case, the shareholders receive the appropriate number of
(supplementary) shares in the isolated railway.
- If the only move a locomotive could make is to a spot
adjacent to two other lines (which is explicitly forbidden), is the line
considered isolated? If so, what happens if those two lines later merge -
does it become un-isolated? This is a rather unlikely situation, admittedly.
But in the case of towns two hexes apart, such as Leeds and Manchester,
they could box a line in such that this arose.
- No, the line is NOT considered to be isolated. It does
mean that the railway line cannot be extended while this situation exists.
- If there are only a few tiles left, is a railway
considered isolated if it requires more tiles than are available to be able
to link to further towns or be merged.
- No, the line is NOT considered to be isolated.
For all purposes, supplementary shares behave like real shares. There should be
no difference between the two types, but when returning shares of an active railway
a player should return real shares, this is just to make the identity of the
returned share clear (i.e. that it belongs to a specific railway) and to highlight
the fact that it is now available if the locomotive for that line is moved.
- Are the number of supplementary shares fixed at 16.
- No, the game comes with 16 but this is not meant to be
a limit to game play.
When scoring for a merger, only the cities and towns connected to the dissolved
railway line count towards the score (see example in the rules).
The game can finish between the two actions that a player has, but it does
not suddenly stop in the middle of an action. A player should therefore arrange his
turn such that he can carry out another action before causing the game to end.
- If I move a locomotive adjacent to a starting town
(of a different railway line), does it cause a merger.
- No. The starting town is not part
of a railway line, it just contributes to the value of the line. To cause a
merger the locomotive needs to move adjacent to either the track or locomotive
of another existing railway line (see next question also).
- If I move a locomotive adjacent to a starting town
(of a different railway line) that has not yet started, does it cause a merger.
- No. This may seem to be a similar situation to the one above
but the difference is that one of the lines is not yet in existence.
While it might seem that a merger should take place (because the two locomotives
are adjacent), it does not. Locomotives are placed on the board at the start
of the game just to remind players where the starting towns are. For mergers
to take place the railway line needs to come into existence first and so requires
that the locomotive is moved from its starting town.
- If there is only one tile left and I move the locomotive
so it is now adjacent to another line (i.e. the two line would merge), does
the merger still take place since a 61st tile would be required and the
game is supposed to end once the tiles run out.
- The merger does still take place as if there was an imaginary
61st tile. The game cannot end in the middle of an action, so the merger would
take place as normal (along with the scoring for cities, railway towns, mergers).
After this the 'game end' scoring round would take place.
The intention was that you could only move stations that were in the open, not
ones that were linked into a railway line. So, if a station is on a piece of
track then it no longer can be moved, if it is in the open then it can be moved.
Towns and Cities
- Are the number of station fixed at 7.
- Yes, each player starts the game with 7 stations and
the number is a limit.
There are three different 'types' of Towns and Cities.
Railway Towns: Ashford, Aylesbury, Derby, Leeds, Lincoln,
Oxford, Peterborough, Rugby and Swindon
Starting Towns: Bristol, Crewe, Dover, Liverpool, Norwich,
Southampton and York
Cities: Birmingham, Brighton, Cambridge, Gloucester, Guildford,
Hertford, London, Manchester, Northampton, Nottingham, Reading, Sheffield
The term 'town' refers to either a Railway Town or a Starting Town.
Each time a railway line connects to a new city, it triggers a scoring event.
Each time a railway line connects to a new railway town, it triggers a scoring event.
Connecting to a starting town does not trigger either of the above two events nor does
it in itself trigger a merger to take place.
A town or city can only contribute to a value of a railway line once no matter how
many times the line is linked to it.
- Does a railway town only trigger a scoring event for the first
railway line connected, or is it every time a new railway line is connected.
- Every time a railway town is connected to a new railway line a
scoring event is triggered.
- Once a locomotive leaves its starting town, does the town become a
- No. Towns and cities do not change 'type' for any reason.
This page is maintained by Chris
Last Updated 16th December 1999