|by Chris Lawson
Earlier rules translations may not have made the following points clear.
End of Game
The game ends the instant a player reaches zero, no further scoring takes place. If two players score simultaneously and both reach zero at the same time, then the game is a tie. This is also true if two players reach zero even if they started on different scores, e.g. Player A is on a score of 1 and Player B is on a score of 2, if they tie for an artifact and score 2 or more points each then they will come joint first.
HOUSERULE : If the game ends with a tie, the player to score the furthest past zero is the winner (in the example above, Player A would have won).
Who Comes Second
The rules do not state how you resolve who comes second, third, etc.
HOUSERULE : As soon as someone reaches zero, the game ends at that point and no more scores are awarded. Second place goes to the player with the lowest score at that point, third goes to the next lowest, etc. If players are on the same score, then their position are tied.
Money Tile (Coins)
The money tile must be played as soon as it is obtained. It is used immediately to steal an artifact from another player BUT you must have already obtained an identical artifact before. If you cannot fulfil this condition, then the tile is useless and is discarded. The player who just had a artifact stolen is awarded one point and the money tile is then discard.
Gold Mask Tile
The large triangular tile at the head of the line of artifacts is called the "Gold Mask". It can be considered as a full "joker" tile which counts as if it was a real full value artifact. It can be used on its own when an artifact scores (which is not the case with the tie-break tile or the money tile).
Resolving multiple ties when scoring artifacts
A three or more way tie is scored as ZERO points. There is no first or second place score and so no-one scores.
1 to 7 are artifacts and M is the players marker in last position
7 6 5 4 3 2 1 M
If the player moves his marker and picks up tile 4, i.e.
7 6 5 M 3 2 1
then the artifacts are removed in the order 1, 2 and then 3 (after tile 4 is scored first).
One point to note, if a player decides to use a tie-breaker, then he is not allowed to 'take it back' if another player decides to use one as well. Once you announce you will play the tile, it is gone from your hand. You cannot play one to see if your opponent will play one and then mutually agree to withdraw both.
There is no set order in which you must play the tie-breaker (Pharaoh tile). Either player may forward one (or more) to play, in which case the other player may also add one (or more), etc.