BARLEY MOW PUB, TILFORD VILLAGE GREEN
Our land lies very close to the ruins of Waverley Abbey, hence our herd names are attributed to this. Waverley Abbey was the first Cistercian Abbey in England, founded in 1128, the abbey took 150 years to complete. In its years of splendor, the abbey was enormous. The occupants of the abbey were known as "the white monks of Waverley". The monks are thought to have built most of the bridges over the River Wey in Tilford. There is a lake in front of the ruins of the abbey which is where the monks used to catch fish, the lake was a gift to the monks from the Bishop. The abbey now belongs to the National Trust and is open to the public.
The Surrey Hills were one of the first areas in England to be designated an 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty'. This designation recognised the beauty of the landscape and ensures that it is properly conserved and managed for future generations to enjoy. It is the most wooded of the country's protected landscapes and one of the most varied.
The Surrey Hills are in fact several landscape types. The Surrey Hills includes living and working communities and there are picturesque and thriving village communities that lie within the landscape.
Much of the Surrey Hills are owned or managed by the Surrey Wildlife Trust, The National Trust, The Woodland Trust and other conservation bodies who not only care the land sensitively, but encourage public access.
However, there is much more to a visit to this area than the landscape alone, with many visits and attractions such as Britain's largest vineyard at Denbies Wine Estate.